Balearic Islands

The Balearic Islands are an archipelago of Spain in the Mediterranean Sea, near the eastern coast of the Iberian Peninsula.

It is made up of a number of islands, the four largest being:

  • Majorca (aka Mallorca)
  • Minorca (aka Menorca)
  • Ibiza
  • Formentera

The four largest islands are: Majorca, Minorca, Ibiza and Formentera. The archipelago forms an autonomous community and a province of Spain, with Palma as the capital city. The co-official languages in the Balearic Islands are Catalan and Castillan Spanish. The current Statute of Autonomy declares the Balearic Islands as one nationality of Spain.